Mi voz fuerte

disabilty, hockeymom, motherhood

Dear Ignorant Commenter on a FB page,

You are a coward. You had the nerve to complain about a person in a wheelchair taking too long to get on a public bus? Wow!!!! I pray for your immortal soul.

As a 39 year old mother of five children, my life was filled with busyness, a full time job, vacations that were scheduled, music lessons, dance lessons, etc., as well as my volunteer and philanthropic activities.

Fast forward to today, I’m still a mother of five, but I’m permanently disabled and mobility impaired due to auto-immune diseases and a mild tremor disorder.

I would love to not make people wait in line while it takes me longer to check out at a store, endure the glares and snide comments from ignorant people who comment on my parking in a handicapped space because I don’t look handicapped; but I’m glad that I do, because my disability has not taken my voice.

My voice can be used to advocate for those with disabilities that go home and cry to their parents and their caregivers because a person like the one commenting there yelled at them and they can’t yell back. The person you are shaming and complaining about is someone’s child, mother, father, husband, wife and/or friend.

I sure hope we meet, someday and that you are courageous enough to stand up for your views, in person.

I double dog dare you!

In solidarity,

Mamasaurus

Leave a Reply

