Faith, Estrogen and Entrepreneurship

Uncategorized

As I am writing this blog post it is in the early morning after my attendance at a Girl Power tournament loooong weekend, the Always sponsored “Run Like a Girl Superbowl Ad” with the culminating event last night about women entrepreneurs. To say I’m on estrogen overload is an understatement. I’m having so much estrogen fighting my testosterone that I feel like I need to punch something and eat raw meat to bring balance to my universe!

WHY?

Why does being a “woman” mean you have to be a back biting mean girl?

Why does being a woman mean you have to NOT “run like a girl”?

Why do woman entrepreneurs have to lose their faith?

Those are the three MAJOR concepts I’m contemplating this morning!

1) MEAN GIRLS – they are everywhere, at every age and will never be eradicated from this earth. I choose to confront them, head on like a charging Mamasaurus!  Send me a forest full of “letters” and “warnings” – I could use the toilet paper. You know I’m ultimately right. I never fight unless I am. Silly – you will learn that.

2) Are you kidding me? That’s the best you can come up with Always? Really? PATHETIC!!!! Women lose confidence at 12 because that’s when the mean girl bullying about appearance (6th grade!) and when most girls start menstruating. So that’s your subtle advertising? Urgh!!! I might have been more impressed with it (doubt it!) if it was at least sponsored by Nike, Reebok or another athletic company.  Do I dare ask, “What if I don’t want to run at all?” Oh yeah there I go again – too deep…

3) FAITH – wow don’t know how I didn’t shout out how upset I was at the nervous laughter when a panelist derided my faith last night. Oh yeah, it’s allowed because it’s open season on Catholics in the U.S.? That’s right I’m a Roman Catholic. Very proud of it! So panelist, when you talk about the “Sisters of Mercy” that is a special group to me. The fact that you are “bragging” about your mentorship of them and using it as a punch line made me want to punch something! As I was with a new friend of faith and her friends from church, I didn’t want to make a scene so I got up and left, went to the bathroom and splashed cold water on my face. It was not as feminine an exit as I had hoped (I’m not used to a skirt ok?) and my return was markedly noticed and I walked as gracefully as I could, with my skirt tucked into my pantyhose! Yeah – that’s me! Thankfully a nice woman pointed this out.

Back to FAITH – see I had just be subjected to almost 90 minutes of “local woman entrepreneur experts” testimony on what made them successful.  I never heard one thing about FAITH. I had just written a note in my leather bound fancy idea journal (I felt like a Jr. High girl passing notes!) to my new friend, “How come they are afraid to talk about FAITH?” and then it happened. God made apparent. Literally 30 seconds after she acknowledged she was thinking the same thing – the nuns issue came out, the nervous laughter and then the panelist’s quote, “They think they can just pray and make it happen!”

Well my new friend looked at me, her friends from church looked at me and went, mouth agape, “Oh my goodness!” You just wrote that!”

 Yup – welcome to my world “sisters”!

Stay true to who you are. Pray if that’s what you do, meditate if you like, or just be still. The ONLY one you listen to is your breathing. Listen to your God. You KNOW what to do. Have confidence that you are faith-filled, wise and disciplined enough to hear it. Be ready to listen…

Leave a Reply

