Apologies, Social Media and Too Much Detail

Catholic, disabilty, hockeymom, motherhood

Good Afternoon Roarers!

Today I find myself exceedingly calm, cool and collected – considering I had a major financial aid issue for my soon to be college grad Engineerasaurus Rex and it happened directly when I was supposed to be leaving for a rescheduled event.

Well after rushing to get the task done, making sure the JVsaurs were entertained, I hopped into the USS Fuller only to find it almost on E and very cranky due to the mind numbing cold.

20 minutes after I left the cave, and after I pretended I was on the pit crew at Indy for a refuel, I arrived at my destination (I actually took a shower and dressed in a suit with a scarf to accessorize and was wearing lipstick to top off the extreme top knot hairstyle all within 15 minutes – total elapsed time from start to finish 45 minutes!) only to find no one there!

Thinking that perhaps I had messed up my dates, I laughingly inquired if it was a mistake on my part. I was told no – the presenter had cancelled due to illness and had supposedly emaiedl all the registered participants. I was also told that another woman had come and gone.

Trusty Smartphone in hand, Mamasaurus searched the email boxes (Including SPAM), checked the Eventbrite notifications, to no avail – no cancellation.

I smiled and graciously started to walk out – only to meet up with another gentleman inquiring about the same event. He was not as gracious nor as accepting.

Trying to be ever so helpful, I messaged the host to let them know that others such as myself did not get the cancellation and that perhaps it was because of the Eventbrite software with my wishes for a speedy recovery.

I was met with a surprising and quite frankly off-putting reply.

I guess that’s the last time I’ll try and be helpful.

Note to all – when you apologize mean it. Be sincere. Do not make excuses. We all have sick kids, disabilities, difficulties with planes, trains and automobiles.

When it is – 20 celsius, and I have multiple mobility reducing permanent disabling conditions exacerbated by extreme cold; your excuses really don’t matter.

Sincere apologies do.

Say them however only if you mean them.

If not, don’t bother – I can tell the difference.

Cheers!

Mamasaurus

Leave a Reply

