#1000speak Compassion for the Neurodivergent

Uncategorized

1000speak is my way to say thanks and to point out a different way of thinking and to have compassion for those “different”  –  why do we fear difference?  Why was I wired so differently that instead of running from difference,  difficulty and division,  I embrace it and I would posit that I try to understand why it is so feared.  It is not easy.  I present this symbol today.  It is the symbol of neurodiversity.  Neurodiversity is the diversity of human brains and minds – the infinite variation in neurocognitive functioning within our species. It can and is shown often as a symbol in the autism rights movement.  As my sister was diagnosed as being autistic at a young age and as my mother vehemently fought the diagnosis and with my multiple disabling conditions (including mild neurological conditions and Tourettes)  I want to place this out “on the line” to raise awareness and compassion for those struggling.  To think about autism and other neurological conditions as not something bad, but as a normal divergence from the bell curve is just fantastic!

Autism_spectrum_infinity_awareness_symbol.svg

Leave a Reply

